Lying To Congress?

Roger Clemens don’t want to hear it, but it’s good advice. Fess up! This is pretty good counsel from someone who ought to know -Pete Rose.

Though I wouldn’t consider myself a real baseball fan I always liked Roger Clemens and appreciated his work ethic and his charitable foundation, but it’s time to come clean and tell the truth. The longer it drags on, the worse he looks. We all make mistakes and we’ve all told fibs. Your character is going to come out looking better in hindsight if you admit it before people others still believe, come out refuting your story, which has happened with Andy Pettitte’s testimony. According to those investigating Clemen’s use of steroids,

“Andy Pettitte didn’t want to testify against his friend and former teammate, but when he raised his right hand, he told the truth.”

But what gets me all to heck is the danged old double standard here. Clemens is gonna be arraigned on Monday for lying to Congress and faces a combined maximum sentence of 30 years in prison and a $1.5 million fine!

FOR LYING TO CONGRESS?!

Where’s the freaking love? Lying to Congress? Give me a break. I wish, just wish we tax-payers had even a lousy nickel for every Congressman, woman, lobbyist, staffer or congressional aide who has lied to the American people. We could solve this economic crisis pdq!

Glenn Beck’s got it right. It’s about Restoring Honor. And then you’ve got people like Al Sharpton organizing his own counter-rally (against Restoring Honor?), saying Beck is co-opting the anniversary of Martin Luther King’s I have A Dream speech. Then why is King’s niece, Alveda King speaking at Beck’s rally? I believe because she thinks it is a positive way to remember and honor her uncle and what he stood for.

Aloha, Mikie

Dare2Kerr@gmail.com
tweet

3 Responses to Lying To Congress?

  1. Rodger Virtue says:

    Al Sharpton is thankfully NOT a US Congressman.
    Instead, he’s a……..

    well, I’m not quite sure what the reality of his career is. Political activist?? Civil rights activist??
    Minister?? Shake down artist??

    • Mikie says:

      Hi Rodger, I stand corrected. Wonder why I tend to lump them all together?? Thanks for catching my boo-boo!. . . Mike

  2. Jerry says:

    Outsanding Mike. Will forward to others….

