We Shall Overcome ~ If We Vote

Unbelievable is all I can say! It’s what I keep saying – last night when I saw the beginning of a debate on TV for Illinois’ 8th Congressional District  moderated by the League of Women Voters as they often are, but what blew me away was that this moderator, Kathy Tate-Bradish refused to allow the debate to begin with the Pledge of Allegiance. Take a look.

I had much the same feeling when I read our paper this morning (it’s no longer West Hawaii Today, I shall hereafter refer to it as the Worst Hawaii Today) and saw on the editorial page their endorsements for certain key races in the state and here on the Big Island. That’s fine, you’d expect them to have endorsements and I never doubted for a minute that I wouldn’t agree with the majority of them, but it was their justification that made me shake my head and want to scream. I mean, if you buy their line, why even bother to vote?

This is how it starts:

“Hawaii politics is the most partisan politics possible – there’s one team and if you’re not on it you’re not in the game.”

Oh yeah, what about Massachusetts, Delaware, Alaska, New York, Virginia and New Jersey??? States which had huge upsets in primaries because people are sick of the usual politics and politicians serving themselves, deal-making and not representing their constituents [my words].

It goes on to say:

“Republicans may have a voice, but there’s no one on the other side of the isle listening.” The article continues, admitting the whole state is a mess- “name a department in this state that isn’t a mess.”

But then endorses Abercrombie for governor, a Democrat and 20+ year veteran of Washington D.C., you know that wonderfully working den of inequity called the US Congress? OMG.

The nod for Inouye is worse,

“His seniority is an A-ticket to pork funds that exceed the national average.”

And for Cindy Evans:

“She is a Democrat who has served her time and followed well party marching orders. While she has not been one to produce impressive legislation, she deserves another term.”

All I can say is Unbelievable! Get out there and Vote. You can be in the game despite what Worst Hawaii Today says!

Aloha, Mikie

Dare2Kerr@gmail.com

Comments are closed.

