An Itty Bitty Moment of Awkwardness

Tomorrow’s the day to thank a veteran or an active duty soldier, sailor or military person for your freedom!

We really should do it every day or certainly more often than we do, not just on Veteran’s Day. I’ve done it before, but at heart I’m a sort of shy person (though my friends would never agree).

I first have a conversation with myself, you know to sorta get up my courage. I imagine as I approach that they are probably thinking something like . . . “who’s this old lady (my hair is mostly gray) and what does she want?” because there’s this little itty, bitty moment of awkwardness and so I sort of make myself do it. Put out my hand to the first in the group who’s eye meets mine and say,

“Thank you for your service to our country.”

The instant smile and gratitude is always immediate and it genuinely feels good, so give it a try. There’s a million and one ways to do it:

  • Buy someone a drink or take them for a meal
  • Offer to do yard-work or handyman chores for them
  • Do something special for their spouse or kids
  • Send a card or write a note
  • Flowers are never unappreciated

It really doesn’t take much. They never expect it, but they always appreciate it. If you’re stuck for ideas check out 101 Ways to thank a Veteran and enjoy this artwork by Ray ‘Bubba’ Sorenson (painted on a huge rock near a gravel pit near HWY 25 in rural Iowa). Note the flag looks draped over the rock, but it’s actually painted on.

Freedom Rocks!

Aloha, Mikie

Dare2Kerr@gmail.com

3 Responses to An Itty Bitty Moment of Awkwardness

  1. Daniel Lovejoy says:

    When I first came home from Basic Training in 1982, I wore my dress uniform to “show off” to my friends who we doing the same exact thing they were doing when we graduated. Drinking, cruising, looking for work, living at home….
    To my surprise, I was accosted by a woman who starting calling me “baby killer”, etc. After a few minutes, I had to forceably remind her that I was 9 years old in 1973, and that she really needed to re-evaluate her perceptions of people in uniform. (No, I wasn’t that polite about it, but the message was the same).

    She should have been a little more shy and a lot less verbal in her assault. I appreciate that you are willing to stand up and thank people like me for our service, and honestly, that’s all we really need.

  2. Judy Mancuso says:

    I consider myself one of your friends…hope you feel the same…and no, I don’t think of you as shy, but do understand. I, too, am shy….but no one would believe it, but I do thank a vet or a serviceman when I see them. I am so thankful to them. Thanks for reminding all of us.

  3. Kathy Brown says:

    Amen!

