Why I’m Not on Facebook

not on facebookHow many ways can one describe their gender or sexual orientation? Call me old-school, the simple M or F, works just fine for me. But ok, this is the 21st century and I’ve evolved and I know all about LGBT, gay marriage, civil unions, transgender bathrooms, etc. But really, 58 gender options available on Facebook? Oh wait, that’s not even right. Facebook found that even 58 gender options was too limiting. They’ve added an “other” box where you can write in anything you like. Just like the old Army’s slogan:  Be all that you can be!

So in case you’re wondering what they are and what they mean, here you go! Here’s a sampling and you can use up to ten in your profile.

  • Agender/neutrois – people who don’t identify with any gender
  • Gender Fluid – feel free to express both male & female characteristics
  • Gender Questioning – for people who are still trying to figure out where they fit on the axes of sex and gender
  • Neither – confused
  • Two-spirit – refers to gender-variant Native Americans

I know, but let’s face it you have to dig pretty deep to come up with more than 58 options. Some of them are bound to be really out there!

Aloha, Mikie ~just a blogger (fightin’ like a girl)

~Psst, tired of politics? Check out Travel in the Categories drop down menu (right side panel) for my blogs posted from interesting locations during my travel adventures.

One Response to Why I’m Not on Facebook

  1. […] At any rate C.J. Pearson apparently is a little too informed and politically active (and on the wrong side) for the administration’s liking. His YouTube video (over 1.4 million views) “President Obama: Do you really love America?” which he posted on his Facebook page has resulted in him being locked out of facebook. How many phone calls did it take to accomplish that. Not many is my guess. BTW, this is another good reason why I am not on Facebook. […]

